Posted by: LLS | November 22, 2012

Sometimes We Slip. Sometimes We Fall.

I have practiced both and I find slipping much more enjoyable than falling. Slipping means you caved and had a little indiscretion. You answered that text or took that call and yes it’s time that would be better spent elsewhere, but you think, it’s brief and no real harm could come from it. You can still live with yourself. But don’t be fooled. Slipping can and often does lead to falling. Falling, doesn’t even sound fun. Falling hurts. Falling sets you back,  months, years maybe. Falling is followed by tears and regret and self loathing. Falling causes you to start questioning your sanity and  intuition, not to mention your self-worth. Falling just plain sucks. It’s a bad road that no amount of construction can repair. It can be resurfaced a million times, but the road still leads to the same dead-end. Falling makes you kick yourself, especially when all the signs are there that a hazard is ahead and you pay them no notice. Once you’re on Falling Avenue, you start forgetting whats important to you. It’s like a time warp. You forget all your good intentions and all the work you’ve done to live a positive life. Falling makes for scrapes and bruises that result in scars.

I recently visited slipping, followed by a brief, yet memorable, stint with falling. Both were the result of a wrong turn and both where a mistake. Now I feel like I’ve gone down this crappy, pot hole riddled road again, only to be met by that familiar glowing Dead End sign. My choice, I know and yet here I am. My ass is sore from kicking myself so hard and all I can do is turn around and head for the freeway.

Today is Thanksgiving and I am very thankful. I spent the day with wonderful, dear friends and my beautiful children. We enjoyed an absolutely awesome feast and visited while watching a movie. Very lovely indeed.  It made my slip-n-fall not so terrible. It actually put things into perspective again.  I was with the people I love and who love me. I was having a positive experience with positive people. My heart was too full of love and joy to ache. I guess everything happens for a reason and knowing as I do, that I created this, my job now is to raise my vibration so I don’t attract these negative interactions in the future. No matter how pretty the road make look, no matter if it appears to be a short cut, no matter that it’s so familiar, I can choose a road less traveled (at least by me) and that will make all the difference.

Responses

  1. I love this so much, sure can identify with the slipping and the falling. We are so human.

    • Yep we are, some (me) more than others :) I’m ready to be superhuman. Haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Jenna Dee

....living with a following wind

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Beltane Fire Society

Formed in 1988, Beltane Fire Society is a community arts performance charity that hosts the Beltane Fire Festival and Samhuinn Fire Festival in Edinburgh.

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Art Express

Pieces of my world :)

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

silentcrossfire

a journal

The Hobart Chinaman

an accidental Occidental Oriental

I... .

shifty thoughts in the sands of Humanity's narrative.

dawnavynslegacy

This is my Journey....

